The year is 2012 – and the Mayans are predicting the end of the world counting down to the midnight of 21st Dec 2012. Meanwhile Brett and me are been gearing ourselves up to take off. I quit uni at the start of the year and then I find someone to replace my position as the Head of Accounts and Administration at my job to hand it all over to Ken! Brett too gives up his some of his shares in his company over to his two business partners to say good-bye – once and for all to this “corporate lifestyle”. Its October now – and Brett and me are leaving on a jet plane off to Brisbane and two trains to finally get to Eumandi – to pick up our new portable home – “The Eagle”

As we arrive in Eumandi  we get a call from the mechanic who was adding a new engine to make the eagle as good as new – asking us to not arrive yet – that he has discovered some major problems that need to be fixed. Brett and me just have two pairs of clothes as our plan was to get to Eumandi pick up the Eagle and drive back to Melbourne to quickly pack up and leave for Cairns via the Blue Mountains near Sydney where we were booked in for Vipassana.

So with two pairs of clothes – we are stuck here in Eumandi – until the Eagle is good to go – the previous owners Tim and Sally put us up at their house and cooked us some amazing food. Tim told us that there happens to be a vipassana centre just 1/2 an hour away from where they live in Pomona and we could just transfer there instead of the Blue Mountains.

So we head off to Pomona to embark our journey with a 10 day silent meditation – Vipassana. Here I am introduced to the notion of ‘annica’ – which means impermanence or change -is drilled into my head of not having any cravings for anything to be a certain way – or any aversions to way things are as they stand. Having harnessed the power of equanimity – I start my journey feeling limitless and free – confident to face anything and everything that can come my way. Little did I know what the universe had in line for me!

Vipassana at Pomona

Vipassana at Pomona

We have our portable home and we have just completed Vipassana – next mission is heading back to Melbourne – and coming back all the way past Brisbane to head to Cairns – for a 7 day solar eclipse party. We have 1 week to drive to complete about 4200 kms..

We make it to Melbourne (1600 kms) in 48 hours – really knackered and delirious. Now we need to pack and make our way back to Cairns which is another 2000kms.. Good news is that we are not on our own – Jason and Terry will be joining us!!! The drive back is definitely exciting – except for 1 fact – the eagle is not feeling too well – and she needs a doctor! Every 200 kms we find ourselves rushing into the driveway of the nearest mechanic to give her a doze of his magic to keep her going. About 400 kms from Cairns.. 4/5th of the way the Eagle broke down and could not move any further! Here is where the universe is definitely forcing me to apply the principles of Vipassana. I must not crave my lovely portable home and I must not have an aversion to a rented car. Embracing the fact that at least we have the option of a rented car to take us to our party we jump ship and finally make it 1 day late to Cairns for a very exciting 6 days!

One of the most magical festival that I have ever been to – there are some memories that will never leave my mind such as watching the 3 shooting stars as Fat Freddy’s Drop was playing live – the main dance floor after the eclipse – the chill stage which was full of crystals – the tree art house art decor that you could climb on and the eclipse itself!!

eclipse 2012

We all gathered together at about 5 in the morning and found a comfy spot on the mountain.. The sun rose.. the birds started chirping and it was really like any other ordinary day. The sun was shining brightly in the sky and when we looked at the sun through our eclipse glasses – you could see part of the sun slightly covered in black. Over the next hour – this shade over the sun grew larger – as the moon began to come closer the sun. As this happened I felt the temperature dropping as it became colder while the daylight reduced to sheer darkness. The birds  became silent and when you looked at the sun – you could see that it is completely covered by the moon – it was pitch dark and all you could see in the sky was this:

eclipse-2012

I heard someone say at a festival – that once you witness an eclipse – you never want to miss another one ever again – and I feel like I definitely would agree with that. Maybe its something about the feminine energies of the moon uniting with the masculine solar energies which brings out within you some form of an orgasmic awakening which can never really be described by words.. its something you have to witness for yourself to know what I am really talking about. But you could definitely feel a certain kind of ecstasy from that experience.

Empire of Love – Photo Credit – Jess Dales

By the end of all of it – I was just glad that I made it 🙂

Brett n me - eclipse 2012

Credits:

Jess Dales – for her beautiful photos.

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJyD9AxilDQ

Time.is.happenin
Byronfilm.com
Guerillabyte Media Resources
Shot on 5Dmk3 by Oliver Claude Buckworth and Sean Patrick McAuliffe
Edited by Sean Patrick McAuliffe
Music-
SWAMPRATT
OFRO – soundcloud.com/rohithabraham
TEMPLE STEP PROJECT- soundcloud.com/temple-step-project
Special thanks to MoonArt Collective – moonartscollective.com/
Shrine On – shrineon.com/
The Bongo Bus – threeworlds.com.au/l

Leave a comment